Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee

Program Co-Chairs

Carolina Ruiz
United States

Brief Bio
Carolina Ruiz is an Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science at Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI), USA. She received her Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Maryland College Park. Her research focuses on developing data mining and machine learning algorithms for biomedical data. In collaboration with researchers and medical doctors at the University of Massachusetts Medical School and Boston College, she has conducted research in a variety of clinical domains including gastrointestinal cancers, sleep disorders, and stroke. A major emphasis of her work has been on developing techniques that are able to automatically discover patterns across a wide spectrum of patient data. In addition to her tenured faculty position in the Dept. of Computer Science, she is a core faculty member of the WPI Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Program, the Data Science Program, the Neuroscience Program and the Healthcare Delivery Institute (HDI). ... More >>

Jan Sliwa
Bern University of Applied Sciences

Brief Bio
Jan Sliwa has received his MSc degree in Automation and Information Technology in 1977 from the Silesian Institute of Technology in Gliwice, Poland. In 1981 he moved to Switzerland. He developed software from Assembler to Java, from embedded systems to Web applications, from industry to medicine. Medicine has been his activity field in recent years: management of medical data, new trends in medical technology, technical and ethical aspects of medical research. He wrote and presented numerous papers, including one keynote and one book chapter. In 2015 he initiated this special session (Smart Medical Devices - From Lab to Clinical Practice) of the BIOSTEC conference. He is affiliated to the Department of Engineering and Information Technology of the Bern University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland. His non-IT specialty is languages and cultures: Germanic, Romanic, Slavic and East Asian. ... More >>


Flora Amato, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II, Italy
Francois Andry, Philips, France
María Teresa Arredondo, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Wassim Ayadi, LERIA, University of Angers, France and LaTICE, University of Tunis, Tunisia
Philip Azariadis, University of the Aegean, Greece
Adrian Barb, Penn State University, United States
Rémi Bastide, University of Toulous, France
Bert-Jan van Beijnum, University of Twente, Netherlands
Anna Belardinelli, Honda Research Institute, Germany
Marta Bienkiewicz, TUM, Technische Universitat Munchen, Germany
Alécio Binotto, , Brazil
Edward Brown, Memorial University, Canada
Federico Cabitza, Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Eric Campo, LAAS CNRS, France
Nick Cercone, York University, Canada
Sergio Cerutti, Polytechnic University of Milan, Italy
Philip Chan, Florida Institute of Technology, United States
James Cimino, School of Medicine at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, United States
Miguel Coimbra, IT, University of Porto, Portugal
Emmanuel Conchon, XLIM, France
Carlos Costa, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
Chrysanne DiMarco, University of Waterloo, Canada
Liliana Dobrica, University Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania
Stephan Dreiseitl, Upper Austria University of Applied Sciences at Hagenberg, Austria
Christo El Morr, York University, Canada
José Filho, Federal University of Espírito Santo (UFES), Brazil
José Fonseca, UNINOVA, Portugal
Daniel Ford, Dell Research, United States
Christoph Friedrich, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Dortmund, Germany
Ioannis Fudos, University of Ioannina, Greece
Angelo Gargantini, University of Bergamo, Italy
Laura Giarré, Università degli Studi di Palermo, Italy
Yves Gourinat, ISAE-SUPAERO, France
David Greenhalgh, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom
Murat Gunal, Turkish Naval Academy, Turkey
Jorge Henriques, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Chun-Hsi Huang, Southern Illinois University, United States
Enkelejda Kasneci, University of Tübingen, Germany
Min Kim, University of Missouri School of Medicine, United States
Waldemar Koczkodaj, Laurentian University, Canada
Dimitri Konstantas, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Craig Kuziemsky, MacEwan University, Canada
Elyes Lamine, University of Toulouse, IMT Mines Albi, CGI, France
Giuseppe Liotta, University of Perugia, Italy
Guillaume Lopez, Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan
Martin Lopez-Nores, University of Vigo, Spain
Michele Luglio, University of Rome "Tor Vergata", Italy
Frances Mair, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
Pierre Maret, Université de Saint Etienne, France
Mia Markey, The University of Texas at Austin, United States
Alda Marques, University of Aveiro, Portugal
Paloma Martínez, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
José Luis Martínez, Universidade Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Sally McClean, University of Ulster, United Kingdom
Gianluigi Me, Luiss University, Italy
Gerrit Meixner, Heilbronn University, Germany
Roman Moucek, University of West Bohemia, Czech Republic
Tadashi Nakano, Osaka University, Japan
Goran Nenadic, University of Manchester, United Kingdom
Rui Pedro Paiva, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Danilo Pani, University of Cagliari, Italy
José Pazos-Arias, University of Vigo, Spain
Carlos Pereira, Federal University of Rio Grande Do Sul - UFRGS, Brazil
Enrico Piras, Fondazione Bruno Kessler - Trento, Italy
Rosario Pugliese, Universita' di Firenze, Italy
Juha Puustjärvi, University of Helsinki, Finland
Arkalgud Ramaprasad, Ramaiah Public Policy Center, Bengaluru, India, India
Zbigniew Ras, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, United States
Alvaro Rocha, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Marcos Rodrigues, Sheffield Hallam University, United Kingdom
Elisabetta Ronchieri, INFN, Italy
George Sakellaropoulos, University of Patras, Greece
Ovidio Salvetti, National Research Council of Italy - CNR, Italy
Akio Sashima, AIST, Japan
Jacob Scharcanski, UFRGS - Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Boris Schauerte, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Bettina Schnor, Potsdam University, Germany
Isabel Segura Bedmar, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Luca Dan Serbanati, Politehnica University of Bucharest, Romania
Kulwinder Singh, University of South Florida, United States
Irena Spasic, , United Kingdom
Jan Stage, Aalborg University, Denmark
Robyn Tamblyn, McGill University, Canada
Ioannis Tollis, University of Crete, Greece
Vicente Traver, ITACA, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain
Mohy Uddin, King Abdullah International Medical Research Center (KAIMRC), Saudi Arabia
Gary Ushaw, Newcastle University, United Kingdom
Aristides Vagelatos, Computer Technology Institute, Greece
Justin Wan, University of Waterloo, Canada
Rafal Wcislo, AGH - University of Science and Technology in Cracow, Poland
Janusz Wojtusiak, George Mason University, United States
Lixia Yao, Mayo Clinic, United States
Clement Yu, University of Illinois at Chicago, United States
André Zúquete, IEETA, IT, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal

(list not yet complete)