Home      INSTICC Portal
Call for Papers

HEALTHINF is sponsored by INSTICC – Institute for Systems and Technologies of Information, Control and Communication

The purpose of the International Conference on Health Informatics is to bring together researchers and practitioners interested in the application of information and communication technologies (ICT) to healthcare and medicine in general and to the specialized support to persons with special needs in particular.
Databases, networking, graphical interfaces, intelligent decision support systems and specialized programming languages are just a few of the technologies currently used in medical informatics. Mobility and ubiquity in healthcare systems, standardization of technologies and procedures, certification, privacy are some of the issues that medical informatics professionals and the ICT industry in general need to address in order to further promote ICT in healthcare. In the case of medical rehabilitation and assistive technology the use of ICT has had important results in the enhancement of the quality of life, contributing to a full integration of all citizens in the societies they are also part of.
HEALTHINF is a forum for debating all these aspects. Furthermore, this conference is also a meeting place for those interested in understanding the human and social implications of technology, not only in healthcare systems but in other aspects of human-machine interaction such as accessibility issues.

HEALTHINF encourages authors to submit papers to one of the main topics indicated below, describing original work, including methods, techniques, advanced prototypes, applications, systems, tools or survey papers, reporting research results and/or indicating future directions. Accepted papers will be presented at the conference by one of the authors and published in the proceedings. Acceptance will be based on quality, relevance and originality. There will be both oral and poster sessions.
The proceedings will be indexed by several major international indexers.
Special sessions are also welcome. Please contact the secretariat for further information on how to propose a special session.

Conference Topics

› e-Health
› Telemedicine
› Medical and Nursing Informatics
› Design and Development Methodologies for Healthcare IT
› Interoperability
› Semantic Interoperability
› Confidentiality and Data Security
› Knowledge Management
› Databases and Datawarehousing
› Datamining
› Decision Support Systems
› Wearable Health Informatics
› Mobile Technologies for Healthcare Applications
› Evaluation and Use of Healthcare IT
› Physiological Modeling
› Cognitive Informatics
› Affective Computing
› Therapeutic Systems and Technologies
› Healthcare Management Systems
› Human-Machine Interfaces for Disabled Persons
› Development of Assistive Technology
› ICT, Ageing and Disability
› Practice-based Research Methods for Healthcare IT
› Electronic Health Records and Standards
› Software Systems in Medicine
› Pervasive Health Systems and Services
› e-Health for Public Health
› Clinical Problems and Applications
› Data Visualization
› Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning

Keynote Speakers

Sergio Cerutti, Polytechnic University of Milan, Italy
Mário Forjaz Secca, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Tanja Schultz, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany


All accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings, under an ISBN reference, on paper and on CD-ROM support.
All papers presented at the conference venue will be available at the SciTePress Digital Library (http://www.scitepress.org/DigitalLibrary/).
A short list of presented papers will be selected so that revised and extended versions of these papers will be published by Springer-Verlag in a CCIS Series book.
The proceedings will be submitted for indexation by Thomson Reuters Conference Proceedings Citation Index, INSPEC, DBLP and EI.

Program Chair
Vicente Traver, ITACA, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain
Program Committee

Filippos Azariadis, University of the Aegean, Greece
Adrian Barb, Penn State University, United States
Isabel Segura Bedmar, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Bert-Jan van Beijnum, University of Twente, Netherlands
Riccardo Bellazzi, Universita di Pavia, Italy
Elizabeth Borycki, University of Victoria, Canada
Egon L. van den Broek, Human-Centered Computing Consultancy / University of Twente / Radboud UMC Nijmegen, Netherlands
Federico Cabitza, Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Cristina De Castro, Ieiit-cnr, Italian National Research Council, Italy
James Cimino, NIH Clinical Center, United States
Donald Craig, Faculty of Medicine, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
Anna Divoli, University of Chicago, United States
Stephan Dreiseitl, Upper Austria University of Applied Sciences at Hagenberg, Austria
José Fonseca, UNINOVA, Portugal
Christoph M. Friedrich, University of Applied Science and Arts Dortmund, Germany
Ioannis Fudos, University of Ioannina, Greece
Jonathan Garibaldi, University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
Enrique J. Gómez, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Alfredo Goñi, University of the Basque Country, Spain
David Greenhalgh, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom
Tiago Guerreiro, INESC-ID, Portugal
Cigdem Gunduz-Demir, Bilkent University, Turkey
Alexander Hörbst, UMIT - Private University for Health Sciences, Medical Informatics and Technology, Austria
Chun-Hsi Huang, University of Connecticut, United States
Ana Iglesias, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Andreas Kerren, Linnaeus University, Sweden
Georgios Kontaxakis, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
Giuseppe Liotta, University of Perugia, Italy
Martin Lopez-Nores, University of Vigo, Spain
Emilio Luque, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain
Paloma Martínez, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Sally Mcclean, University of Ulster, United Kingdom
Gianluigi Me, Università degli Studi di Roma "tor Vergata", Italy
Gerrit Meixner, German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), Germany
Sai Moturu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
Hammadi Nait-Charif, Bournemouth University, United Kingdom
Goran Nenadic, University of Manchester, United Kingdom
Chaoyi Pang, CSIRO, Australia
Danilo Pani, University of Cagliari, Italy
José J. Pazos-arias, University of Vigo, Spain
John Puentes, Telecom Bretagne, France
Rosario Pugliese, Universita' di Firenze, Italy
Juha Puustjärvi, University of Helsinki, Finland
Arkalgud Ramaprasad, University of Illinois at Chicago, United States
Marcos Rodrigues, Sheffield Hallam University, United Kingdom
Valter Roesler, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
George Sakellaropoulos, University of Patras, Greece
Nickolas S. Sapidis, University of Western Macedonia, Greece
Bettina Schnor, Potsdam University, Germany
Heiko Schuldt, University of Basel, Switzerland
Arash Shaban-Nejad, McGill University, Canada
Carla Simone, Università degli studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Zoran Stevic, University in Belgrade, Serbia
Francesco Tiezzi, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Italy
Adrian Tkacz, BioMedical-IT, Poland
Alexey Tsymbal, Siemens AG, Germany
Aristides Vagelatos, RACTI, Greece
André Zúquete, IEETA / IT / Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
Jana Zvarova, Institute of Computer Science Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, Czech Republic